中鼎嵌入式系統公司簡介

中鼎嵌入式系統股份有限公司於2007年通過台大創新育成中心進駐評審,正式成立,以開發工業行動電腦(Industrial Mobile Computer)為主要目標。2009年完成核心技術開發驗證工作,結束育成輔導階段,成為台大創新育成中心畢業廠商,隨後遷至附近捷運公館站聯合開發大樓,邁向商品化階段。2012年完成首個產品組合:手持工業行動電腦系統開發平台。

現代嵌入式行動化設備的技術相當複雜且龐大,其建立和養成非常不易。本公司以充分掌握軟硬體核心為首要之務。當市場有特定需求時,本公司即能立即開發出最適切的產品;而不是將公板、公模做削足適履的套用而已。相關核心技術包括:ARM SoC、圖形加速器、通訊介面、週邊介面、感測介面、FPGA、啟動程式、工具鏈、Linux核心、驅動程式、作業系統、視窗系統、桌面環境、中介軟體、資料庫、軟體套件管理、軟體發行管理等等。本公司成立五年期間,集中全力於核心技術的養成,特意避開匆促推出產品上市,疲於奔命於產品之調整、修改和維護。經過多年實力累積,終於能推出全方位的產品組合:手持工業行動電腦系統開發平台。

本公司提供客戶工業行動電腦客製化服務。針對顧客實際應用需求,包括硬體介面、通訊、感測器、機盒外觀、軟體使用者介面、中介軟體、程式庫等,專業客製化成最適合的工業行動電腦。首先本公司提供工業行動電腦PC模擬器給顧客立即開發應用軟體,此PC模擬器和最終目的工業行動電腦在核心System Call層次完全一致,因此作業系統、視窗系統、桌面環境、中介軟體、程式庫兩者完全一致。亦即在PC模擬器所開發的應用軟體,不需經過移植,直接載入目的工業行動電腦立即可用。PC模擬器在核心System Call層次以下則保持Native Mode執行,充分發揮PC高效能運算能力;不像一般模擬器使用Cross Mode,執行效能大打折扣。

工業行動電腦系統開發套件由CPU主板、LCD及IO擴充板、電源及HDD板組合而成。提供應用軟體在ARM CPU環境的測試和開發。在PC模擬器開發的應用軟體,如果是用解譯式(Interpreter)程式語言撰寫,如Python、Java、Perl、Bash等,直接載入系統,立可執行;如果是用編譯式 (Compiler)程式語言撰寫,如C/C++,則可用此ARM CPU的工業行動電腦系統開發套件編譯成可執行的目的碼,然後載入系統執行。記住此時C/C++應用程式源碼不需做任何額外的移植步驟,只需單純編譯即可。

一個真正具有長期價值的工業行動電腦系統,不僅在於安裝其上的軟硬體,更在於其背後源源不斷提供軟體更新和下載的雲端服務。本公司投入相當多的人力物力建構軟體套件管理和軟體發行管理的雲端伺服器,讓使用者可隨時搜尋所需要的軟體套件,下載,然後安裝。工業行動電腦本身同時記錄所有安裝軟體套件的版本編號,可自動或手動和雲端軟體發行管理伺服器比對版本新舊,進行軟體更新。

隨著各式各樣大眾消費性智慧型行動設備的普及,例如智慧型手機、平板電腦、數位相機、GPS等等,將這個世界快速串聯起來。但是在量大的消費性智慧型行動設備外,世界上還有許多小量多樣、特定用途、特殊功能的智慧型行動設備需求。本公司的目標即在於針對上述需求提供一系列客製化的工業行動電腦,例如手持工業行動電腦、平板工業行動電腦、工業行動伺服器等等,形成一個真正無疆無界的串聯世界。

Introduction to Centrum Embedded Systems Corporation

Centrum Embedded Systems Corporation (CES) was established at the Innovation and Incubation Center of National Taiwan University in 2007. The objective of CES is to design, manufacture and market industrial mobile computers. After two years of effort, CES has accomplished the development and validation of the core technology of the industrial mobile computers and ended the incubation stage. In 2009, CES moved into the nearby joint development building of MRT Gongguan station and began the product development project. In 2012, CES completed and released the first product development project: Cedar handheld industrial mobile computer system development platform.

The technology of modern embedded systems is quite complex, it is very difficult to establish and develop. The high priority of CES is to build the core competence of the industrial mobile computer core technology. When the customers have any needs, CES is able to develop the most appropriate industrial mobile computers to meet their needs; rather than using any reference or evaluation boards to develop procrustean models. The core technologies that CES interested in are: ARM SoC's, graphics accelerators, communication interfaces, peripheral interfaces, sensors, FPGA, bootloader, tool chain, Linux kernel, drivers, operating system, window system, desktop environment, middleware, database, software package management, software distribution management and so on. Since the company was established, CES has concentrated on building these core technologies, and has avoided the rush to launch any immature products to the market. After five years' accumulation, CES was finally able to launch a comprehensive product: Cedar handheld industrial mobile computer system development platform.

CES provides the customization services of industrial mobile computers to the customers. If customers have any special needs, including hardware interfaces, communications, sensors, the appearance of the machine box, the user interface, middleware, libraries, etc., CES can customize the industrial mobile computers to meet their needs. First, CES provides the PC emulator of the industrial mobile computer for the customers. The customers can develop the application softwares using the PC emulator on the PC environment. This PC emulator and the target industrial mobile computer have 100% the same kernel system calls. The operating systems, the window systems, the desktop environments, middlewares, and libraries of the two systems are completely the same. That is, the application softwares that are developed on the PC emulators, can be loaded into the target industrial mobile computers directly, without going through any migration or porting. The PC emulators keep Native Mode execution (that is, executing the x86 instructions directly), give full performance of the PC's computing power; Unlike most other emulators use Cross Mode execution (that is, executing ARM instructions emulated by x86 architecture), hence the performance is greatly reduced.

The industrial mobile computer system development kit consists of CPU main board, LCD and IO expansion board, power supply and HDD board. This kit provides the development and testing of the application softwares in the ARM CPU environment. The application software developed in the PC emulator, if it is written in an interpreting programming language (Interpreter), such as Python, Java, Perl, Bash, can be loaded into the target system, and execute directly; if it is written in a compiling programming language (Compiler), such as C/C++, you can use this ARM CPU industrial mobile computer system development kit to compile the application software into the executable object code, and then load it into the target system, and execute it. Keep in mind that the source code of the C/C++ application software does not need any migration or porting effort, just compile and it works.

The long-term value of an industrial mobile computer system is determined by not only the hardware and software which were installed on, but also the steady and lasting service of software update and download from the cloud server. CES has invested quite a lot of manpower and resources to build up the software package management and software release management cloud server, so that users can search the software packages, download and then install. The industrial mobile computer itself records the version numbers of the installed software packages. It can automatically or manually update the software packages by comparing the version numbers of the software packages installed with the version number of the software packages in the repository of the cloud server.

With the popularity of the intelligent mobile devices of the consumer and mass market, such as smart phones, tablet PCs, digital cameras, GPS'es and so on, the world become connected rapidly. However, besides the need for the high volume products of consumer intelligent mobile devices, there are many needs for the small quantity products of customized and specialized intelligent mobile devices in the world. The goal of CES is to provide a series of customized industrial mobile computers to meet the above needs of customers,such as industrial handheld mobile computers, industrial tablet mobile computers, industrial mobile servers, and so on. And finally, the world become truly connected, and boundaryless.