新產品上市:Cedar 310手持工業行動電腦系統開發平台

    行動工作者,指其工作場所不在固定的辦公位置,而必須在大範圍的工作場所間移動,例如:穿梭於病房間的醫護人員、廠區巡迴的工程師、會展服務人員、環保監控員、送貨員、維修人員、警察和車長等等。固定場所工作者大部份已使用電腦來提昇其工作效率和生產力,但許多行動工作者尚未配備電腦,或者使用比較初級的行動電腦,其效能有限。隨著大眾化智慧型行動設備的廣泛使用,例如:智慧型手機、平板電腦、數位相機、GPS等等,相關零組件及技術突飛猛進,成本也日益降低。這些進步應該也讓行動工作者受惠,使其能使用更先進、效能更好的行動電腦;但是不同的行動工作者需要不同的行動電腦,包括不同的周邊介面、通訊介面、感測介面、機構外觀、使用者介面、應用軟體、中介軟體等等,這些不同的部份往往需要耗費相當多的產品開發資源,加上是屬於小量多樣的產品,開發的成本效益往往不划算。

 

中鼎嵌入式系統公司有鑒於此,推出Cedar 310手持工業行動電腦系統開發平台,幫助加速各種手持工業行動電腦的開發,並降低開發成本。Cedar 310 手持工業行動電腦系統開發平台包括三部分:
一、手持工業行動電腦PC模擬器。
二、手持工業行動電腦系統開發套件。
三、手持工業行動電腦軟體套件管理和軟體發行管理雲端伺服器服務。
顧客可用此系統開發平台快速開發手持工業行動電腦原型和應用軟體,並加以驗證。驗證完成後,中鼎嵌入式系統公司則進一步提供手持工業行動電腦原型打樣和量產服務。

 

  1. Cedar 310手持工業行動電腦PC模擬器:
    Cedar 310手持工業行動電腦PC模擬器利用標準的x86個人電腦,直接建構出和計畫開發的目標手持工業行動電腦完全相同的核心System Calls,再安裝上完全相同的作業系統、視窗系統、桌面環境、程式庫及中介軟體,使得兩者的應用軟體完全相容。亦即在PC模擬器開發的應用軟體,不需修改程式碼,即可在目標手持工業行動電腦上執行。應用軟體開發者可立即在成熟穩定的高效能PC環境(例如:1.6GHz雙核心x86 CPU、2GB DRAM、320GB硬碟、Gigabit乙太網路等)發展應用軟體,測試作業流程和使用者介面。然後再將此應用軟體載入Cedar 310手持工業行動電腦系統開發套件中,進一步測試真正ARM CPU的執行效能。PC模擬器在核心System Call層次以下則保持Native Mode執行,充分發揮PC高效能運算能力;不像一般模擬器使用Cross Mode,執行效能大打折扣。

 

  1. Cedar 310手持工業行動電腦系統開發套件:
    包括1GHz ARM Cortex A8 CPU、512MB DRAM、320GB HDD、5” LCD Display(800x480)、電阻式觸控面板、1個USB2.0 OTG、3個USB2.0 Host、1個10/100Mb Ethernet、 1個microSD插槽、1個UART、8個使用者LED指示燈、8個使用者按鍵、DC5V插座、電源觸發按鍵開關。軟體出廠即安裝:Linux核心最新穩定版(3.2以上)、CeMOS GNOME/GNU作業系統、視窗系統、桌面環境。Cedar 310手持工業行動電腦系統開發套件接上DC5V電源,按下電源鍵後立即可用,不需額外進行軟體安裝動作。Cedar 310手持工業行動電腦系統開發套件,提供應用軟體在ARM CPU環境的測試和開發。在PC模擬器開發的應用軟體,如果是用解譯式(Interpreter)程式語言撰寫,如:Python、Java、Perl、Bash等,直接載入系統,可立即執行;若是用編譯式 (Compiler)程式語言撰寫,如:C/C++,則可用此ARM CPU的工業行動電腦系統開發套件編譯成可執行的目的碼,然後載入系統執行。記住此時C/C++應用程式碼不需做任何額外的移植步驟,只需單純編譯即可。

 

  1. Cedar手持工業行動電腦軟體套件和發行管理雲端伺服器服務:
    中鼎嵌入式系統公司所提供之Cedar 310 手持工業行動電腦系統開發平台,不僅僅是您現在取得的PC模擬器和系統開發套件而已,更重要的是其提供源源不斷的軟體下載和更新服務。Cedar手持工業行動電腦軟體套件和發行管理雲端伺服器裡有超過一萬五千個以上的系統套件和應用軟體套件,隨時提供顧客下載安裝。因此Cedar 310手持工業行動電腦的功能隨使用者需求具有延伸性。Cedar 310手持工業行動電腦系統開發平台本身同時記錄所有安裝軟體套件的版本編號,可自動或手動和雲端軟體發行管理伺服器比對版本新舊,進行軟體更新。

 

Cedar 310手持工業行動電腦系統開發平台,適合擁有專業領域之系統整合商或應用軟體開發商快速發展最終目標手持工業行動電腦,例如:物流業、醫療業、製造業、環保業、運輸業等等。但是不適合各類ARM開發板經銷商和終端使用者,因為其不是開發板,也不是最終產品。Cedar 310手持工業行動電腦系統開發平台售價新台幣45,000元,除了包括Cedar 310手持工業行動電腦PC模擬器、Cedar 310手持工業行動電腦系統開發套件、Cedar手持工業行動電腦軟體套件和發行管理雲端伺服器服務外,還包括各為期一年的硬體保固、系統安裝和應用軟體開發諮詢服務。有意者請洽:中鼎嵌入式系統股份有限公司,地址:10091台北市中正區羅斯福路四段68號9樓之10,電話:02-23623620。

New Product Release: Cedar 310 Industrial Mobile Handheld Computer System Development Platform

Mobile workers means who's workplace is not at a fixed office location, but work around and moving around in a larger area, for example: the medical staff shuttling in the sick rooms of a hospital, the maintenance engineers going around and inspecting in a factory, the exhibition services staff, the environmental supervisors, delivery persons, field personnel, police and motormen, etc. Fixed place workers have mostly used of computers to improve the efficiency and productivity of their work, but many mobile workers is not yet equipped with a computer, or by using the out-of-date mobile computer, its effectiveness is limited. With the popularity of smart mobile devices, for example: smart phones, tablet PCs, digital cameras, GPS, etc., the related components and technology of mobile devices are advancing by leaps and bounds, the cost has become less and less. These advances should also benefit mobile workers, to enable them to use the more advanced, better performance mobile computers. Different mobile workers require different mobile computers, including the different peripheral interfaces, communication interfaces, sensors, mechanism and appearance, user interfaces, application softwares, middlewares, etc., these different parts often takes quite a lot of product development resources, and because industrial mobile computers are small volume large varieties products, too much development cost is usually not justified. 

In view of this, Centrum Embedded Systems Corporation introduced Cedar 310 handheld industrial mobile computer system development platform, to help accelerate the development of handheld industrial mobile computers, and reduce development costs. The Cedar 310 handheld industrial mobile computer system development platform consists of three parts:

1. A PC emulator for the handheld industrial mobile computers.

2. The handheld industrial mobile computer system development kit.

3. The software package management and software distribution management cloud service of the handheld industrial mobile computers.

Customers can use this system development platform to develop and validate the prototype of the handheld industrial mobile computers. Centrum Embedded Systems Corporation provides further services to produce pilot-run samples and regular products for the customers.

1.Cedar 310 PC emulator for the handheld industrial mobile computers:

The Cedar 310 PC emulator using the standard x86 PC directly to build the kernel with 100% the same system calls as the target handheld industrial mobile computer, and then installed the same operating system, window system, desktop environment, libraries and middlewares. It makes the application softwares on the PC emulators and on the target computers are fully compatible with each other. That is the development of application softwares in the PC emulators, do not need to modify any source code to perform in the the target handheld industrial mobile computers. Application software developers can immediately develop the application softwares, test the logic, work flow and user interface on the mature and stable, high-performance PC environment (for example: 1.6GHz dual-core x86 CPU, 2GB DRAM, 320GB hard drive, Gigabit Ethernet, etc.) Then these application softwares can be loaded into Cedar 310 handheld industrial mobile computer system development kit, to further test the true performance of executing on the ARM CPU. Under the kernel system call layer, the PC emulator runs on the Native Mode, which gives full play to the PC's high-performance computing power. Unlike most other emulators use the Cross Mode, which reduce performance greatly.

2.Cedar 310 handheld industrial mobile computer system development kit:

1GHz ARM Cortex A8 CPU, 512MB DRAM, 320GB HDD, 5” TFT LCD Display (480x800), Resistive touch panel, one USB 2.0 OTG port, three USB 2.0 Host ports, 10/100Mb Ethernet, microSD slot, UART port, 8 User LED Indicators, 8 User Buttons, DC 5V Socket, Power Button Switch. Pre-installed software: the latest stable version of Linux Kernel (3.2 or above), CeMOS GNOME/GNU Operating System, Window System, Desktop Environment. Cedar 310 handheld industrial mobile computer system development kit is designed to be a turn-key system. When connect DC 5V power, press the power button and it works immediately, without the need to install any extra software. Cedar 310 handheld mobile computer system development Kit provides the real ARM processor environment for the application software development and testing. The application softwares which were developed in the Cedar 310 PC emulator, if they were written in an interpreted programming language (Interpreter), such as: Python, Java, Perl, Shell, can be executed in the Cedar 310 handheld industrial mobile computer system development kit immediately; if they were written in a compiled programming language (Compiler), such as: C, C++, you can use the Cedar 310 handheld mobile computer system development kit to compile them into executable object codes, and then load these object codes into the system to execute. These C/C++ application source codes do not need any migration or porting effort, just compile them and load them, they will perform the same as in the PC emulator, because the PC emulator and the system development kit share the same System Calls, although they have different processors. 

3.Cedar 310 handheld industrial mobile computer system development platform provided by Centrum Embedded Systems is not just the PC emulator and system development kit you have now, more important, it provides continuous services of software download and update from the cloud server. There are more than fifteen thousand system software packages and application software packages in the Cedar handheld industrial mobile computer cloud server now, and stands ready to provide the customers to download and install the software packages from the cloud server. The function of Cedar 310 handheld industrial mobile computer system development platform can be extended when the user download and install the new software package from the cloud server. The Cedar 310 handheld industrial mobile computer system development platform always records the version numbers of all installed software packages, it can be automatically or manually compared with the version numbers of the software packages in the cloud server, and then perform update and upgrade accordingly.

Cedar 310 handheld industrial mobile computer system development platform is designed for the system integrators and application developers to quickly develop the target handheld industrial mobile computers, for example: the logistics industry, medical industry, manufacturing, environmental protection industry, transport, etc. But it is not suitable for ARM evaluation board dealers or end-users, because it is not an evaluation board, nor is it a final product. The list price of Cedar 310 handheld industrial mobile computer system development platform is US$1,495. It includes: Cedar 310 handheld industrial mobile computer PC emulator, Cedar 310 handheld industrial mobile computer system development kit, Cedar handheld industrial mobile computer software package management and software distribution management cloud service, one-year hardware warranty, one-year system installation and application software development consulting services. Interested parties, please contact: Centrum Embedded Systems Corporation. Address: 9F-10, No. 68, Sec.4, Roosevelt Rd, Taipei Taiwan 10091, Tel : 886-2-23623620.